Training Log

I stopped updating this page – there was too much stuff and it was too boring!

Here I try to keep a record of most of the training and walks/runs I do.

The most recent entries appear at the top.

January 2013

  • Narrabeen Allnighter 12 hour ultramarathon, as a runner. Total of 64km.
  • Walked Newcastle to Sydney via roads, 150km in 36 hours.
  • 261km total for the month

November – December, 2012

  • Got tired of logging every single walk!
  • Walked 156km non stop from Sydney/Woolwhich to Yarramalong, a bit over half way through the GNW before having to pull out due to illness.
  • Did 254km, mostly running, through December

Monday October 15

  • “three parks” route, 12ish km run. Sub 2 hrs.

Sunday October 14

  • Mt KuRingGai loop via GNW and Berowra. Easy walk with 3x Berowra hill repeats (creek to fire trail) 15km.

 Saturday October 6

  • Auckland Sri Chinmoy 24 hour race, 114km (80km in 12 hours, 100km 17hrs)

Monday September 24

  • Long walk: 60km, Gosford to Waitara via Pacific Highway

Sunday September 2

  • 50km (approx) circuit Katoomba – Mt Jenolan – Mt Yellow Dog. 50% off-track, took 29 hours!

Sunday August 12

  • Long Walk: 52km, Great North Walk Teralba – Newcastle return

Sunday August 5

  • Long walk: Total 54km with 48km @ 6.6km/h.

Sunday July 29

  • M7 Cities Marathon, 5:29. Walking with jogging breaks.

Sunday July 22

  • Long walk, 40km, average speed 7.0km/h.

Wednesday July 18

  • 18 km fast walk

Sunday July 15.

  • Long walk, 37km plus 3km warm down. Moving average 6.7 km/h.

Friday July 13

  • 19km brisk bushwalk/run (Wondabyne to Patonga), 3:46. Knees a bit sore on longer downhills and left calf started to hurt again in the last half hour forcing me to stick to walking.

Friday July 6 – Thursday July 12

  •  Seven days rest to allow left calf injury to heal.

Thursday July 5

  • 20km fast walk 2:16:21, PR. 8.8km/h moving average.

Monday July 2

  • 33km long walk

Sunday July 1

  • 5 hour bushwalk (Cowan to Taffy’s Rock return). Left calf still sore, but ok if not running. Some pain in left knee on downhills.

Saturday June 30

  • 4km run – trying for 8km but injured calf.

Friday June 29

  •   1 hour moderate, including 3x hills reps @ 80% effort.

Wednesday June 27

  • 1 hour moderate, including 3x hills reps @ 80% effort.

Monday June 25

  • Rest

Sunday June 24

  • Sri Chinmoy 24 hour race ends 10 am. Total of 128.86 km walked.

Saturday June 23

  • Sri Chinmoy 24 hour race, start 10 am, Blacktown Sportspark.

Friday  June 22

  • Rest.

Thursday June 21

  • 50 mins easy

Wednesday June 20

  • 5x 400m on grass at different cadences: 1@ 136 (3:46); 2@ 138 (3:21, 3:23); 1@ 142 (3:21); 1@156 (3:01)
  • 1km on concrete with 2x short hills @156 cadence
  • 4x 50m sprints

Tuesday June 19

  • Rest

Monday June 18

  • Rest – 40 min very easy.

Sunday June 17

  • 2:22 easy walk

Saturday June 16

  • 12km run with NRG

Friday June 15

  • 40 mins easy

Thursday June 14

  • 4 hours long walk/run, including 10km walk above race pace

Wednesday June 13

  • 100 min moderate

Tuesday June 12

  • 90 mins walk/run

Monday June 11

  •  60 min @ pace

Sunday June 10

  • 80 mins @ pace walk

Saturday June 9

  • 80 mins run/@ pace walk.

Friday June 8

  • Rest (travelling for work)

Thursday June 7

  • 5 km run, evening

Wednesday June 6

  • 2.5 hours. Warm up run plus speed 400m reps on track.  2:43 – 3:00 laps.

Tuesday June 5

  • Rest. Easy 30 mins.

Sunday June 3

  • 42km long walk

Saturday June 2

  • 10.8km run with NRG.

Friday June 1

  • Strength: 100 mins moderate walk plus 5x long hill reps and 10x Tunks Park stairs reps.

Thursday May 31

  • 16km moderate walk, 3 hours

Wednesday May 30

  • 2.5 hours speedwork, on track. 400m easy with 800m repeats fast.

Tuesday May 29

  • Rest day, 40 mins easy walk

Monday May 28

  • Long walk, 66 km on road.

Sunday May 27

  • Rest. 20 min easy.

Saturday May 26

  • 80 min race pace on track

Friday May 25

  • 2 hrs speed work: 1200m reps, 40 min easy warm up/down

Thursday May 24

  • 70 min easy walk, 10 min easy run

Wednesday May 23

  • Speed work, 5000m at above race pace

Tuesday May 22

  • Rest

Monday May 21

  • Long run/walk, 34km Woolwich – Hornsby. 20km trail run, 14k walk.

Sunday May 20

  • Long pacing session, 32k Crows Nest – Epping return

Saturday May 19

  • 10km run. First run with Northside Running Group (NRG), my local club.

Friday May 18

  • 4 km easy  walk

Thursday May 17

  • 10km run/walk

Wednesday May 16

  • Walk 14km, Crows Nest – Macquarie Centre.

Tuesday May 15

  • warm up jog + 400m intervals racewalking. 400m circa 0: 3:05

Monday May 14

  • Lane Cove NP. 5km racewalk 35mins, 5 km trail run 42 min.

Sunday May 13

  • Cowan – Brooklyn 12km run/walk. 1:58:27, PR.

Friday May 11

  • 1 hour walk

Thursday May 10

  • 1 hour brisk walk

Wednesday  May 9

  • 50 minute run, 7km with hills. New PR.

Tuesday May 8

  • Unwell. Short, easy walk

Monday May 7, 2012.

  • Walk to Mowbray Rd/Pacific Hwy, jog 3.4km to Rotary Athletic Field.
  • 2 warm up laps
  • 10 laps @ 144 steps/minute
  • 200mx 7 @ 154 steps/minute building to 160/minute
  • Jog Rotary Field to Lane Cove National Park via GNW track (2km)
  • Walk Riverside Drive through park 4.7km @ 144/min.
  • Warm down jog/walk to Macquarie shopping centre 1.8km

Sunday May 6, 2012

  • Rest day, still unwell.

 Saturday May 5

  • 45 minute run (longest non stop run to date)
  • Sick in the afternoon and overnight, fever etc.

Friday May 4

  • 1hr walk plus 2km run (longest run to date)

Thursday May 3

  • 2 hrs. Mix walk/run plus 1km walk @ 156/min

Wednesday May 2

  • 1.5hr walk/run 1 min intervals

Tuesday May 1

  • Rest

Monday April 30

  • Long walk. 42.2km walk with jog down hills. 5:45

Sunday April 29

  • Rest

Saturday April 28

  • 2 hr walk. Fast reps on flat track (untimed).

Friday April 27

  • 3 parks circuit 13.5km, walk/run 1:48. New PR.

Thursday April 26 

  • 1.5 hr walk, incl. hills

Wednesday April 25

  • 2 hr walk

Tuesday April 24

  • Rest

Monday April 23

  • 3km walk, Travel day, return from Yeranderrie.

Saturday April 21 – Sunday 22

  • 130km Mittagong Station – Cox’s River (flooded) and return to New Yards. Approximately 50 hours.

Friday April 20

  • Easy day, short walk

Thursday April 19

  • Short walk. Travel day return from Gloucester.

Wednesday April 18

  • 20km Steep hill climb and run descent. 5 hrs.

Tuesday April 17

  • 1.5 hrs hills. Hill reps and jog.

Monday April  16

  • Berowra to Hornsby on GNW. Untimed.

Sunday April 15

  • 2 hrs pacing session, track/road.

Saturday April 14

  • 1 hr walk

Friday April 13

  • Easy day

Thursday April 12

  • Mt Solitary East West traverse 20km. 5:27

Wednesday April 11

  • 3 parks circuit 13.5km, 1:53 (new PR)

Tuesday April 10

  • Rest day

Monday April 9

  • Long walk. Somersby – Yarramalong return, 50km. 11 hrs.

Sunday April 8

  • Easy day

Saturday April 7

  • 1.5 hr pacing walk
  • Cowan – Brooklyn social walk 12km

Friday April 6 

  • 1 hour walk

Thursday April 5

  • 2 hour walk with hill reps

Wednesday April 4

  • 1 hour walk

Tuesday April 3

  • Rest day

Sunday April 1 – Monday 2

  • Long walk. Teralba station to Yarramalong 100km. 23:10

Saturday March 31

  • 30 minute walk

Friday March 30

  • 40 minute walk

Thursday March 29

  • Cowan – Brooklyn 12km, 2:14

Wednesday March 28

  • 1 hour walk with hill reps

Tuesday March 27

  • 3 parks circuit 13.5km, 2:05 (new PR)

Monday March 26

  • Rest day

Sunday March 15

  • Long walk.  Somersby –  Wondabyne 26km, 5:24

Tuesday March 20 – Saturday March 24

  • 1 – 2 hrs daily mix of pacing, hill reps, & moderate.

Monday March 19

  • Rest day

Sunday March 18

  • Long walk. Six Foot Track, 9:15

Saturday March 17

  • 30 mins easy walk

Friday March 16

  • 40 mins easy walk

Prior to this, I didn’t keep any records of daily walks. The day after a long walk was always a rest day. Other days were divided between fast pacing walks, hill reps and easy walks. Every day 1 – 2 hours.

Sunday March 11

  • Heaton Gap – rainforest creek crossing return. The gap to Heaton Lookout was 30 mins, otherwise untimed.

Monday March 5

  • Mt KuRingGai – Brooklyn 30km, 8 hrs.

Sunday February 26

  • Berowra – Brooklyn on GNW, 6:18

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

strong